members

Parameter-related process control of disinfection in commercial dishwashers based on functionalized vesicles

IGF 18792 N

Dishwashing processes are defined in hygiene quality management systems on the basis of the Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP) concept as critical control points that must be periodically checked by the company itself. For this purpose, among other things biomonitors are used which have to be evaluated in microbiological laboratories; results are available after 2 days at the earliest. The commissioning of specialist laboratories causes high costs.

Within the scope of the research project, a parameter-related process control based on dye-labelled vesicles was developed, which has various areas, enabling the evaluation of the overall process performance (area 1), the effect of the cleaner chemistry (area 2), the effect of the temperature (area 3) and the removal by the rinsing mechanics (area 4). By adjusting the composition of the membrane lipids, the vesicles were adapted to the chemo- and thermosensitivity of E. faecium and used for the respective areas.

Since the vesicles showed no stability against drying of the normative test soiling RAMS, an inclusion immobilization in alginate matrices was developed. During dishwashing, the respective vesicles were destroyed when the corresponding parameter value was reached, so that the included self-quenched dye calcein was released from the vesicles, which could be easily evaluated by fluorescence staining of the areas.

The good agreement with the normative test specimen according to DIN SPEC 10534 could be confirmed in practical rinsing tests. The results of the project will provide the cleaning service providers with an independently applicable and rapid process control for commercial dishwashing processes.

The research report is available on request from FRT.

The IGF-pro­ject 18792 N of the re­search as­so­ci­a­tions Europäische Forschungs­ge­mein­schaft Reini­gungs- und Hy­gien­etech­nolo­gie e.V., Cam­pus Ficht­en­hain 11, 47807 Krefeld, is sup­port­ed via the AiF with­in the fund­ing pro­gram „In­dus­trielle Gemein­schafts­forschung und -en­twick­lung (IGF)“ by the Fed­er­al Min­istry of Eco­nom­ic Af­fairs and En­er­gy (BMWi) due to a de­ci­sion of the Ger­man Par­lia­ment.

Mitglieder

Parameterbezogene Prozesskontrolle der Desinfektion in gewerblichen Geschirrspülmaschinen auf Basis funktionalisierter Vesikel

IGF 18792 N

Geschirrspülprozesse werden in Hygiene-Qualitätsmanagementsystemen auf der Basis des Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP)-Konzepts als kritische Kontrollpunkte definiert, die durch betriebliche Eigenkontrollen periodisch überprüft werden müssen. Hierzu werden u.a. Biomonitore eingesetzt, die in mikrobiologischen Laboren ausgewertet werden müssen; Ergebnisse liegen frühestens nach 2 Tagen vor.

Die Beauftragung der Fachlabore verursacht hohe Kosten. Im Rahmen des Forschungsprojektes wurde eine parameterbezogene Prozesskontrolle auf Basis Farbstoff-markierter Vesikel entwickelt, die über verschiedene Areale verfügt, welche die Beurteilung der Gesamtprozessleistung (Areal 1), der Wirkung der Reinigerchemie (Areal 2), der Wirkung der Temperatur (Areal 3) und des Abtrags durch die Spülmechanik (Areal 4) ermöglichen.

Die Vesikel wurden durch Einstellung der Zusammensetzung der Membranlipide an die Chemo- bzw. Thermosensitivität von E. faecium angepasst und für die jeweiligen Areale eingesetzt. Da die Vesikel keine Stabilität gegen Antrocknung der normativen Prüfanschmutzung RAMS zeigten, wurde eine Einschlussimmobilisierung in Alginatmatrices entwickelt.

Im Spülprozess wurden beim Erreichen der entsprechenden Parameterkenngröße die jeweiligen Vesikel zerstört, so dass es zur Freisetzung des inkludierten gequenchten Farbstoffs Calcein aus den Vesikeln kam, was durch eine Fluoreszenzfärbung der Areale einfach auswertbar war.

Die gute Übereinstimmung mit dem normativen Prüfkörper entsprechend DIN SPEC 10534 konnte in praxisnahen Spülversuchen bestätigt werden. Den Reinigungsdienstleistern wird durch die Projektergebnisse eine eigenständig und schnell durchführbare Prozesskontrolle für gewerbliche Geschirrspülprozesse zur Verfügung gestellt.

Der Forschungsbericht ist auf Anfrage bei der FRT erhältlich.

Das IGF-Pro­jekt 18792 N der For­schungs­ver­ei­ni­gun­gen Eu­ro­päi­sche For­schungs­ge­mein­schaft Rei­ni­gungs- und Hy­gie­ne­tech­no­lo­gie e.V., Cam­pus Fich­ten­hain 11, 47807 Kre­feld, wurde über die AiF im Rah­men des Pro­gramms zur För­de­rung der in­dus­tri­el­len Ge­mein­schafts­for­schung und -ent­wick­lung (IGF) vom Bun­des­mi­nis­te­ri­um für Wirt­schaft und En­er­gie auf­grund eines Be­schlus­ses des Deut­schen Bun­des­ta­ges ge­för­dert.