members

Energy-efficient air dehumidification based on light sensitive hydrogels

IGF 19624 N

For the setup and maintenance of a comfortable atmosphere by air-conditioning systems, the regulation of the room humidity plays an important role in addition to the regulation of the room air temperature. On average, more energy is needed for the dehumidification than for the cooling of occupied zones to reach the comfort field.

The dehumidification of the outdoor air is mostly done by an energy-intensive process based on cooling the air flow below the dew point with subsequent reheating to the desired supply air temperature.

To achieve a reduction of energy and therefore operating costs, an energy-efficient dehumidification unit based on light sensitive hydrogels is developed within a joint research project of the wfk – Cleaning Technology Institute and the Institute of Energy and Environmental Technology (IUTA).

Light sensitive hydrogels change their hydrophilicity and therefore their water absorption capacity during excitation with light of the appropriate wavelength (figure 1). Due to this fact, they possess a high water absorption capacity during the dehumidification process.

During the regeneration process by irradiation (UV light), the deswelling (drainage) of the light sensitive hydrogels is obtained by releasing the majority of the absorbed water from room air as fluid.

In this research project, a dehumidification unit based on light sensitive hydrogels is developed, which allows the exposure of hydrogels to an optimal surround-flow during the air dehumidification process as well as an efficient light coupling and drainage in the regeneration process.

By using such dehumidification units based on light sensitive hydrogels, a significant reduction in the energy demand can be achieved.

The research report is available on request from FRT.

The IGF-pro­ject 19624 N of the re­search as­so­ci­a­tions Europäische Forschungs­ge­mein­schaft Reini­gungs- und Hy­gien­etech­nolo­gie e.V., Cam­pus Ficht­en­hain 11, 47807 Krefeld, was sup­port­ed via the AiF with­in the fund­ing pro­gram „In­dus­trielle Gemein­schafts­forschung und -en­twick­lung (IGF)“ by the Fed­er­al Min­istry of Eco­nom­ic Af­fairs and En­er­gy (BMWi) due to a de­ci­sion of the Ger­man Par­lia­ment.

Mitglieder

Energieeffiziente Luftentfeuchtung auf Basis lichtsensitiver Hydrogele

IGF 19624 N

Bei Raumlufttechnischen Anlagen (RLT-Anlagen) spielt neben der Regulierung der Raumlufttemperatur auch die Raumluftfeuchte eine wichtige Rolle zur Herstellung und Aufrechterhaltung von behaglichen Raumluftkonditionen. Im Durchschnitt muss dabei mehr Energie zum Entfeuchten als zum Kühlen von Aufenthaltsbereichen aufgewendet werden, um in das Behaglichkeitsfeld zu gelangen.

Die Entfeuchtung der Außenluft erfolgt in den meisten Fällen durch einen energetisch aufwändigen Prozess basierend auf der Taupunktunterschreitung mit anschließender Wiederaufheizung des Luftstroms auf die gewünschte Zulufttemperatur.

Um eine Reduzierung der Energie- und somit Betriebskosten zu erreichen, wird im Rahmen eines gemeinsamen Forschungsprojektes des wfk – Cleaning Technology Institute und des Instituts für Energie- und Umwelttechnik (IUTA) eine energieeffiziente Entfeuchtungseinheit auf Basis lichtsensitiver Hydrogele entwickelt.

Die lichtsensitiven Hydrogele ändern ihre Hydrophilie und somit ihre Wasseraufnahmekapazität bei Bestrahlung mit Licht geeigneter Wellenlänge (Abbildung 1). Hierdurch besitzen sie beim Entfeuchtungsvorgang eine hohe Wasseraufnahmekapazität.

Im Regenerationsprozess wird mittels Bestrahlung (UV-Licht) eine Entquellung (Drainage) der lichtsensitiven Hydrogele unter Abgabe eines Großteils des aus der Raumluft aufgenommenen Wassers als Fluid erreicht.

Im beantragten Forschungsvorhaben wird eine Entfeuchtungseinheit auf der Basis lichtsensitiver Hydrogele entwickelt, die eine optimale Umströmung der lichtsensitiven Hydrogele beim Luftentfeuchtungsprozess sowie eine effiziente Lichteinkopplung und Drainage im Regenerationsprozess ermöglicht.

Durch den Einsatz derartiger Entfeuchtungseinheiten auf der Basis lichtsensitiver Hydrogele lässt sich eine deutliche Verringerung des Energiebedarfs erzielen.

Das IGF-Pro­jekt 19624 N der For­schungs­ver­ei­ni­gun­gen Eu­ro­päi­sche For­schungs­ge­mein­schaft Rei­ni­gungs- und Hy­gie­ne­tech­no­lo­gie e.V., Cam­pus Fich­ten­hain 11, 47807 Kre­feld, wurde über die AiF im Rah­men des Pro­gramms zur För­de­rung der in­dus­tri­el­len Ge­mein­schafts­for­schung und -ent­wick­lung (IGF) vom Bun­des­mi­nis­te­ri­um für Wirt­schaft und En­er­gie auf­grund eines Be­schlus­ses des Deut­schen Bun­des­ta­ges ge­för­dert.