members

MRSA detection based on up-conversion glassfibres

IGF 20304 N

The aim of the research project is to develop an optochemical sensor that enables MRSA to be detected directly on site. The optochemical sensor contains an upconversion glass fiber, i.e. phage-functionalized upconversion particles (UCPs) are bound on the surface of the glass fiber and serve as sensors. When NIR light is passed through the upconversion fiber, the UCPs are excited to luminesce, the luminescent light is coupled into the fiber and detected at the photodetector.

The detection principle of the optochemical sensor is based on the quenching of the luminescence of phage-functionalized UCPs after binding of living S. aureus cells and labeling of bound MRSA cells by antibody-functionalized gold nanoparticles, which reduces the intensity of the luminescent light.

The optochemical sensor allows immediate identification and isolation of MRSA-colonized patients. Using the sensor, cleaning and hygiene service providers of the Hygiene Commission of Hospitals can immediately demonstrate the success of cleaning/disinfection procedures performed. If necessary, corrective measures can be initiated immediately.

Critical points that are subject to frequent skin/hand contact can be determined by the Hygiene Commission and regularly examined by cleaning and hygiene service providers for MRSA contamination. With the help of the data obtained, hygiene specialists can continuously optimise hygiene plans and improve strategies for avoiding contaminations, which are of essential importance for the prevention of nosocomial MRSA cases and the containment of the spread of MRSA, with the cooperation of external service providers.

The IGF-pro­ject 20304 N of the re­search as­so­ci­a­tions Europäische Forschungs­ge­mein­schaft Reini­gungs- und Hy­gien­etech­nolo­gie e.V., Cam­pus Ficht­en­hain 11, 47807 Krefeld, is sup­port­ed via the AiF with­in the fund­ing pro­gram „In­dus­trielle Gemein­schafts­forschung und -en­twick­lung (IGF)“ by the Fed­er­al Min­istry of Eco­nom­ic Af­fairs and En­er­gy (BMWi) due to a de­ci­sion of the Ger­man Par­lia­ment.

Mitglieder

MRSA-Nachweis auf der Basis von Upconversion-Glasfasern

IGF 20304 N

Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens ist ein optochemischer Sensor, der einen unmittelbaren MRSA-Nachweis vor Ort ermöglicht. Der optochemische Sensor enthält eine Upconversion-Glasfaser, d.h. auf der Oberfläche der Glasfaser sind Phagen-funktionalisierte Upconversion-Partikel (UCPs) gebunden, die als Messaufnehmer des Sensors dienen. Wird NIR-Licht durch die Upconversion-Glasfaser geleitet, werden die UCPs zur Lumineszenz angeregt, das Lumineszenzlicht in die Glasfaser eingekoppelt und am Photodetektor erfasst.

Das Nachweisprinzip des optochemischen Sensors basiert auf der Quenchung der Lumineszenz der Phagen-funktionalisierten UCPs nach Bindung lebender S. aureus-Zellen und Markierung gebundener MRSA-Zellen durch Antikörper-funktionalisierte Goldnanopartikel, wodurch die Intensität des Lumineszenzlichts verringert wird.

Der optochemische Sensor erlaubt die sofortige Identifizierung und Isolierung MRSA-kolonisierter Patienten. Unter Einsatz des Sensors können Reinigungs- und Hygienedienstleister der Hygienekommission von Krankenhäusern den Erfolg durchgeführter Reinigungs-/Desinfektionsmaßnahmen unmittelbar belegen. Ggf. notwendige Korrekturmaßnahmen können sofort eingeleitet werden.

Kritische Punkte, die häufigem Haut-/Handkontakt unterliegen, können von der Hygienekommission festgelegt und regelmäßig durch Reinigungs- und Hygienedienstleister hinsichtlich einer MRSA-Kontamination untersucht werden. Anhand der erhaltenen Daten können Hygienefachkräfte unter Mitwirkung der externen Dienstleister Hygienepläne kontinuierlich optimieren und Strategien zur Vermeidung von Kontaminationen verbessern, die von essentieller Bedeutung für die Prävention nosokomialer MRSA-Fälle und die Eindämmung der Verbreitung von MRSA sind.

Das IGF-Pro­jekt 20304 N der For­schungs­ver­ei­ni­gun­gen Eu­ro­päi­sche For­schungs­ge­mein­schaft Rei­ni­gungs- und Hy­gie­ne­tech­no­lo­gie e.V., Cam­pus Fich­ten­hain 11, 47807 Kre­feld, wurde über die AiF im Rah­men des Pro­gramms zur För­de­rung der in­dus­tri­el­len Ge­mein­schafts­for­schung und -ent­wick­lung (IGF) vom Bun­des­mi­nis­te­ri­um für Wirt­schaft und En­er­gie auf­grund eines Be­schlus­ses des Deut­schen Bun­des­ta­ges ge­för­dert.