members

Quasi liquid coating systems based on trifunctional polymers for the generation of oil and water repellent surfaces

IGF 21239 N

The aim of the research project is to develop quasi-liquid coating systems for the generation of oil and water-repellent surfaces on porous facade materials. Such quasi-liquid coating systems are based on specially developed trifunctional polymers which consist of a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) group, a solvophilic group and an anchor group with an affinity for substrates and which form association colloids in aqueous coating solutions.

After application, the inversion of polarity at the interface and the formation of binding interactions between solvophilic groups of adjacent trifunctional polymers during the drying process leads to the opening of the association colloids and the formation of a monolayer of aligned PDMS chains on the surface of the facade material (quasi-liquid coating system).

Covalent bonds between anchor groups of the trifunctional polymers and the facade material lead to high stability of the coating system. Impacting soilings slide off highly mobile, aligned PDMS chains of the quasi-liquid coating system, which significantly slows down the soiling of such coated facade materials.

A simple, fast, material-friendly cleaning is ensured by adjusting the wettability of the coating system with water (optimization of the length of aligned PDMS chains).

The project results provide cleaning service providers with a quasi-liquid coating system that enables the long-term preservation of the optical appearance of such coated porous facade materials and their efficient cleaning at a price accepted by the customer (building owner or operator).

The IGF-pro­ject 21239 N of the re­search as­so­ci­a­tion Europäische Forschungs­ge­mein­schaft Reini­gungs- und Hy­gien­etech­nolo­gie e.V., Cam­pus Ficht­en­hain 11, 47807 Krefeld, is sup­port­ed via the AiF with­in the fund­ing pro­gram „In­dus­trielle Gemein­schafts­forschung und -en­twick­lung (IGF)“ by the Fed­er­al Min­istry of Eco­nom­ic Af­fairs and Cli­mate Ac­tion (BMWi) due to a de­ci­sion of the Ger­man Par­lia­ment.

Mitglieder

Quasi-liquide Beschichtungssysteme auf Basis trifunktionaler Polymere zur Generierung öl- und wasserabweisender Oberflächen

IGF 21239 N

Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens sind quasi-liquide Beschichtungssysteme zur Generierung öl- und wasserabweisender Oberflächen auf porösen Fassadenmaterialien. Derartige quasi-liquide Beschichtungssysteme basieren auf speziell zu entwickelnden trifunktionalen Polymeren, die aus einer Polydimethylsiloxan-(PDMS)-Gruppe, einer solvophilen Gruppe und einer substrataffinen Ankergruppe bestehen und in wässriger Beschichtungslösung Assoziationskolloide ausbilden.

Nach der Applikation kommt es im Trocknungsprozess aufgrund der Inversion der Polarität an der Grenzfläche und Ausbildung bindender Wechselwirkungen zwischen solvophilen Gruppen benachbarter trifunktionaler Polymere zur Öffnung der Assoziationskolloide unter Ausbildung einer Monolage ausgerichteter PDMS-Ketten an der Oberfläche des Fassadenmaterials (quasi-liquides Beschichtungssystem).

Kovalente Bindungen zwischen Ankergruppen der trifunktionalen Polymere und Fassadenmaterial führen zu hoher Stabilität des Beschichtungssystems. Auftreffende Anschmutzungen gleiten von hoch beweglichen, ausgerichteten PDMS-Ketten des quasi-liquiden Beschichtungssystems ab, wodurch die Verschmutzung derartig beschichteter Fassadenmaterialien deutlich verlangsamt wird.

Eine einfache, schnelle, materialschonende Reinigung wird durch Anpassung der Benetzbarkeit des Beschichtungssystems mit Wasser (Optimierung der Länge ausgerichteter PDMS-Ketten) sichergestellt.

Reinigungsdienstleistern wird durch die Projektergebnisse ein quasi-liquides Beschichtungssystem zur Verfügung gestellt, das den langfristigen Erhalt des optischen Erscheinungsbildes derartig beschichteter poröser Fassadenmaterialien sowie deren effiziente Reinigung zu einem vom Kunden (Gebäudeeigentümer bzw. -betreiber) akzeptierten Preis ermöglicht.

Das IGF-Pro­jekt 21239 N der For­schungs­ver­ei­ni­gun­gen Eu­ro­päi­sche For­schungs­ge­mein­schaft Rei­ni­gungs- und Hy­gie­ne­tech­no­lo­gie e.V., Cam­pus Fich­ten­hain 11, 47807 Kre­feld, wird über die AiF im Rah­men des Pro­gramms zur För­de­rung der in­dus­tri­el­len Ge­mein­schafts­for­schung und -ent­wick­lung (IGF) vom Bun­des­mi­nis­te­ri­um für Wirt­schaft und En­er­gie auf­grund eines Be­schlus­ses des Deut­schen Bun­des­ta­ges ge­för­dert.