members

Bioimpedimetric monitoring of disinfection processes using polarizable membrane models

IGF 21829 N

In the sector of cleaning services (e. g. building and industrial cleaning, reprocessing of textiles and medical devices), digitalization has been introduced for a long time due to high cost pressure and increasing shortage of skilled workers, whereby automated processes are also important in the context of quality management.

The aim of the research project is a method for bioimpedimetric monitoring of disinfection processes: For this purpose, special polarizable membrane models are developed and applied to the respective carrier material equipped with electrodes, resulting in an automatically evaluable bioindicator.

The polarizable membrane model serves as a surrogate for the respective test germ and is adapted to its sensitivity to all relevant parameters of the disinfection process to be tested (e. g. mechano-, thermo-, and/or chemosensitivity).

The evaluation of the bioindicator is carried out bioimpedimetrically, whereby the measuring principle is based on the polarization of intact membrane models (β-dispersion) as well as the electrostatic binding of charge carriers to these models (α-dispersion) in the lower frequency range of the alternating electric field.

If the integrity of the membrane model is lost or if the model is damaged during the disinfection process, it can no longer be polarized in the alternating electric field and does not contribute to the impedance.

The project results will provide the more than 23,000 cleaning service providers and the approx. 2,300 textile service providers (both predominantly SMEs) with a bio-impedimetric monitoring method, that will enable them, for the first time, to evaluate the effect of the disinfection processes they carry out independently and directly.

Since membrane models are used instead of test germs, the risk of spreading of human pathogenic germs would no longer exist. Defects can be identified much faster and hygiene safety can be further optimized.

Due to the automated evaluation, no additional staff or specialist knowledge are required. In addition, the digitization of test results is made easier.

The IGF-pro­ject 21829 N of the re­search as­so­ci­a­tion Europäische Forschungs­ge­mein­schaft Reini­gungs- und Hy­gien­etech­nolo­gie e.V., Cam­pus Ficht­en­hain 11, 47807 Krefeld, is sup­port­ed with­in the fund­ing pro­gram „In­dus­trielle Gemein­schafts­forschung und -en­twick­lung (IGF)“ by the Fed­er­al Min­istry of Eco­nom­ic Af­fairs and Cli­mate Ac­tion due to a de­ci­sion of the Ger­man Par­lia­ment.

Mitglieder

Bioimpedimetrisches Monitoring von Desinfektionsprozessen mittels polarisierbarer Membranmodelle

IGF 21829 N

In der Branche der Reinigungsdienstleistungen (z. B. Gebäude- und Industriereinigung, Aufbereitung von Textilien und Medizinprodukten) hat u. a. aufgrund des hohen Kostendrucks und zunehmenden Fachkräftemangels die Digitalisierung längst Einzug gehalten, wobei automatisierbare Verfahren auch im Rahmen des Qualitätsmanagements von Bedeutung sind.

Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens ist ein Verfahren zum bioimpedimetrischen Monitoring von Desinfektionsprozessen: Dazu werden spezielle polarisierbare Membranmodelle entwickelt und auf das jeweilige mit Elektroden versehene Trägermaterial aufgebracht, so dass ein automatisch auswertbarer Bioindikator entsteht.

Das polarisierbare Membranmodell dient als Surrogat für den jeweiligen Prüfkeim und wird hinsichtlich seiner Sensitivität gegenüber allen relevanten Parametern des zu überprüfenden Desinfektionsprozesses (z.B. Mechano-, Thermo-, und/oder Chemosensitivität) an dessen Sensitivität angepasst.

Die Auswertung des Bioindikators erfolgt bioimpedimetrisch, wobei das Messprinzip auf der Polarisierung intakter Membranmodelle (β-Dispersion) sowie der elektrostatischen Bindung von Ladungsträgern an diesen Modellen (α-Dispersion) im unteren Frequenzbereich des elektrischen Wechselfelds beruht.

Ist die Integrität des Membranmodells nicht mehr gegeben bzw. wird das Modell im Desinfektionsprozess geschädigt, lässt sich dieses im elektrischen Wechselfeld nicht mehr polarisieren und liefert keinen Beitrag zur Impedanz.

Den über 23.000 Reinigungsdienstleistern und den ca. 2.300 textilen Dienstleistern (beide vorwiegend KMU) wird durch die Projektergebnisse ein Verfahren zum bioimpedimetrischen Monitoring zur Verfügung stehen, welches sie erstmals befähigt, die Wirkung der von ihnen durchgeführten Desinfektionsprozesse eigenständig und unmittelbar zu bewerten.

Fehler können wesentlich schneller identifiziert und die Hygienesicherheit weiter optimiert werden. Da anstelle des Prüfkeims Membranmodelle verwendet werden, wäre auch das Risiko der Verschleppung von humanpathogenen Keimen nicht mehr gegeben.

Aufgrund der automatisierten Auswertung sind weder zusätzliches Personal noch Fachkenntnisse erforderlich. Zudem wird die Digitalisierung der Prüfergebnisse erleichtert.

Das IGF-Pro­jekt 21829 N der For­schungs­ver­ei­ni­gun­gen Eu­ro­päi­sche For­schungs­ge­mein­schaft Rei­ni­gungs- und Hy­gie­ne­tech­no­lo­gie e.V., Cam­pus Fich­ten­hain 11, 47807 Kre­feld, wird über die AiF im Rah­men des Pro­gramms zur För­de­rung der in­dus­tri­el­len Ge­mein­schafts­for­schung und -ent­wick­lung (IGF) vom Bun­des­mi­nis­te­ri­um für Wirt­schaft und En­er­gie auf­grund eines Be­schlus­ses des Deut­schen Bun­des­ta­ges ge­för­dert.